BF 2143

As any fans of DICE’s Battlefield series will know there has been a lot of talk from DICE that DLC will be plentiful.  I think the term they used was an aggressive DLC release schedule.  There is quite a lot of ambiguity there, but in the interests of keeping the BF3 momentum up there has to be something on the horizon.  The question is what shape will the next, all important, release be?

This has been the cause of much speculation, the majority of which has centred around the possibility of  a BF2142 remake, BF2143 (probably).

I would love to say that I agree that we will see a BF2143 DLC made available for BF3 but I cant see it happening.  I remember playing the original BF2142 on PC, and it was not an expansion pack, it was a whole separate game.  Now, bearing in mind EA own DICE, and EA are a business who are in the business of making money, I cant see them turning down the opportunity of releasing BF2143 as a full price release.

I dont know if there is a maximum price that DLC can be, but I am pretty sure most people wouldn’t want to pay 40 quid for DLC!

I do know that they can easily ask you to pay £40 for a new, vacuum packed product.

Yes.  Sadly I would have to say that As far as DLC is concerned a BF2142 remake is highly unlikely.  I think it’s far more likely that we can look forward to DLC more like some of the following:

  • new maps (or remodelled old maps, some new vehicles, a bit of snow)
  • a vietnam era mod, with maps and weapons
  • garbage like the “pay us to unlock all those weapons everyone else had to play to unlock” type upgrades (but hey, if people want to pay for it then wtf I guess!)
  • new SP content & co-op missioons
  • more assignments (maybe they will throw this in somewhere else as a sweetener)
  • a WWII mod (weapons and vehicles)

I myself would gladly pay a reasonable price for more content of this sort (except the early unlock thing).
And if they announced it tomorrow BF2143 with a £50 price tag………honestly……….
my name would be at the top of the waiting list….  so long as they keep Titan mode……with mobile Titans……..ooh and motion mines……and, and, and everything else that was in the original with added destruction

🙂

Leave a comment